Whole30, Round 2, Week 2

We’re past the midway point! Can I get a fist bump? High five? Today is in fact day 17, but I’ll be catching you up on last week’s meals and progress.

Benefits I’m seeing:

  • Down 6.5 pounds from day 1. I haven’t seen this number on the scale in 5 years!
  • As before, flat belly, no bloating, gas, etc.
  • Allergies and eczema cleared up significantly (I think this has also been helped along by regular use of essential oils.)
  • I think I’m finally starting to feel more energetic after passing the midway point. I think there was a lot of junk in my system, and I believe stress (lots of life changes around here lately!) is playing a roll. But I’m starting to see a difference.
  • Could be coincidence, but I’ve really seen a huge amount of improvement in Grubby’s behavior and ability to focus since he’s be mostly off sugar and gluten (I have been giving them rice and oats to avoid a complete mutiny.) When he did have both sugar and gluten at church on Sunday, he had a major meltdown, and then fell asleep in the car. Makes me think it isn’t just coincidence.
  • I finally understand the idea of intermittent fasting recommended by a lot of Paleo folks. One day this last week, I just didn’t have much appetite, so I didn’t really eat. I did a smoothie mid morning when I felt hungry, egg drop soup for lunch, and just munched on some Paleo Jerky, nuts and dried fruit. I know I didn’t really fast, but I could see how it would be easy to just give your body a break from food once in a while with out too much difficulty.
  • As you can probably guess from my last point, I’ve been eating way less snacks because I feel full between meals. 

Inevitable difficulties: (No one said this was easy! But as you can see there are way more bullets under benefits than difficulties.)

  • Last Sunday we had a fellowship meal at church. I admit I was quite tempted to sample some of the amazing cooking and treats available, but I brought something that I could eat, and some kind soul made a beet and carrot salad (delish!) and another made an herb pork roast. I survived, but left feeling really unsatisfied, and had a really difficult time choosing to eat something healthy later that night as well.
  • My dear husband has given up as my accountability partner. Sad, but I do have some other friends who are currently in the challenge or have recently completed a challenge, and they have been amazing!
  • I’m still struggling with some headaches. The only thing I can think is that they are stress related or caffeine related. I’m working on stress management, but hoping against hope that I don’t have to give up coffee!

And now for the food. These aren’t the only things we ate. Especially for breakfast and lunch there are repeat meals or leftovers. But these are the new recipes we ate.

Breakfast

Image

  • Southwestern Frittata (we ate half throughout the week and put the other half in the freezer for next week)
  • Avocado Tomato Salad
  • Monkey Salad
  • Scrambled Eggs with Sauteed Asparagus

Lunch

Image

  • Chicken Salad (made with homemade Paleo mayo) over lettuce, beet and carrot salad, and roast pork (not shown)
  • Turkey (Applegate Farms), bell pepper, mustard wrapped in lettuce, carrots, pickles
  • Paleo Chicken Nuggets, Guacamole, cucumbers and apple slices
  • Chicken Salad (same as above) over spinach, cantelope
  • Trader Joe’s Chile Lime Burger (my favorite store-bought meal for grocery shopping days!), carrots, cucumbers, watermelon
  • Egg Drop Soup (adapted, no cornstarch)

DinnerImage

You will notice that I adapt a lot of recipes. There are plenty of recipes out there that are almost whole30 compliant (check GFDF, paleo, and whole foods blogs). Remember you can always leave out added sugar or sweeteners, use coconut aminos instead of soy sauce, leave out the cheese (sad I know), or add vegetables where there used to be starches (such as cauliflower rice). Don’t be intimidated. It isn’t too hard once you figure out your go to substitutes. 

Your thoughts, questions, comments...

