Nuts and Oats Breakfast Porridge

I have always liked oatmeal, but since giving up boxed cereals, it has truly become a staple and a favorite. It took a few tries (and not a few raisins), but I finally convinced my kiddos of its merits. My husband still remains unconvinced. At any rate, I’m not quite ready to give up oats altogether, despite my recent paleo leanings. As good as they are, I sometimes need a break from eggs.

The good thing about oats is that they are gluten free (be sure to check the package), and it is easy to soak them for maximum nutrient absorption. But as much as oatmeal “sticks to your ribs,” I’m always looking for ways to beef it up with some protein. So I came up with this simple substitution to replace some of the grains and increase the protein and fat content of my favorite cereal. Another plus, even though my kids usually don’t like nuts in their cereal, they devoured this even faster than usual!

oat nut porridge

Nuts and Oats Breakfast Porridge

  • 3/4 cup nuts, finely chopped in food processor (I used almonds, cashews, and pecans)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut, finely chopped in food processor
  • 2 cups gluten free oats (old fashioned)
  • 3 cups of water (more or less, depending on how thick you like it)
  • drizzle of honey or maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dried or fresh fruit as desired
  • milk (or coconut milk) if desired

Pulse nuts and coconut in food processor until finely chopped. Combine nut mixture with oats and cover with water. (I like a little less water for a thicker porridge, and then I add milk when I serve it.) Microwave for 2-3 minutes until oats are tender and water is absorbed. Drizzle with honey, add cinnamon, and fruit, and stir to combine. Divide into servings and top with milk as desired.

Serves 4. 

One response to “Nuts and Oats Breakfast Porridge

  1. Pingback: What to do for breakfast? | Real Food - Real Life·

Your thoughts, questions, comments...

