Smoothie Success

green smoothie

My 30 day green smoothie challenge is progressing well. I only missed one day (Chubby had to get seven stitches, and we spent over 5 hours in urgent care and ER), and I’m really enjoying the pick me up from the wholesome ingredients in my smoothies. I’m not using them to replace meals, but to enhance meals (a tip I learned from my Whole30). Usually they ensure I have veggies first thing in the morning or they are a mid-afternoon pick-me-up. Even when you make one simple change in your eating habits, it helps every other choice you make. At least for me, I don’t want to undo that one good choice I made by making a bad one!

I had a request for favorite recipes, so here they are. For both of these, just combine in a blender on high speed until drinkable. Each recipe makes one serving.

Tropical Green Smoothie

  • 1/2 rip mango, roughly chopped
  • 1-2 handfuls of greens
  • 1/4 cup coconut cream
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil (optional)
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • water (enough to make it blend smoothly)
  • handful of ice cubes

Coconut Cherry Limeade Smoothie

adapted from Unconventional Kitchen, smoothie challenge emails

  • 1-2 handfuls of greens
  • 2 Tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries (and/or strawberries)
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut cream
  • water (enough to make it blend smoothly)
One response to “Smoothie Success

  1. Pingback: What to do for breakfast? | Real Food - Real Life·

Your thoughts, questions, comments...

