If you must splurge, don’t have leftovers

One thing I’ve noticed is that one not so good choice can lead to a downward spiral of bad choices. For example, if my sweet tooth is raging, and I decide to go out a buy a carton of ice cream, I then feel the need to eat more of that ice cream the following night (or however many nights it takes to finish it). If I forget to meal plan and ask my husband to pick up a pizza, I eat it for dinner and also for lunch the next day. I think this comes partially from my desire to not waste food (even if it is junk), but also once I give in to those old eating habits, I’m hooked again. Junk food truly is addictive.

I know that I could just not eat the junk. But sometimes, you just have to splurge. So I’ve decided that the best way to ensure that my splurge is just a one time splurge is to only make one serving – no leftovers to temp me later. These one serving cookie-cakes have just one tablespoon of sugar and some form of chocolate. I used almond flour, so they are grain free (a plus in my book!) As far as the chocolate you use, I have tried it a few different ways. One night all I could find was mini M&Ms, so I used them. But I actually prefer dark chocolate chips. I have also made it a chocolate cookie-cake by simply using cocoa powder instead of chips/candy. Of course if you really need chocolate, you could use both!

cookie cake collage

Single Serving Chocolate/Chocolate Chip Cookie-Cake {Grain Free}

adapted from My Happy Place

1 Tablespoon butter, melted
1 heaping Tablespoon brown sugar
3 drops vanilla extract
few shakes of salt
1 egg
1/4 cup almond meal
2 Tablespoons chocolate (chips, candy, etc.) or 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder

Melt butter in a small bowl or ramekin. With a fork, whisk in brown sugar, vanilla, salt, and egg. Then stir in almond meal and chocolate pieces/powder. Microwave for one minute or until cooked through (test with a toothpick if you aren’t sure.) Eat it all yourself!

Your thoughts, questions, comments...

